All or nothing

It’s been a while since I’ve written anything over here. My main medium is Instagram, I use this blog when I feel the need to write more than a couple of sentences. Today I feel like writing something about the ‘all or nothing’ principle a lot of us (former)fatties have stuck in our head. For me, this has been the reason why I have clothes in all sizes in my closet (ok, recently I gave the bigger ones to charity because I’m really done with that, yay!). I always felt like either I was on a strict diet and exercise regularly, OR I was eating ONLY bad stuff an no exercise at all (All or nothing!). Preferably this was divided by weeks/days/months, so THIS week, I’m doing good, or, THIS week is already ruined and I will start my strict program next Monday (always Mondays, why don’t we ever start a diet on a Tuesday??). Β This resulted in a lot of weight fluctuations and not being able to maintain any type of weightloss. As you may (or may not) know, I’ve been on my ‘getting fit’ journey for over a year now and I must say, it really is something I struggled with, but I feel like I’ve got it now! I’ve realized (and also experienced), that weightloss takes time over several weeks/months/years and losing weight is all about the balance towards the healthier choices. That doesn’t mean you should choose healthy all the time. I sometimes skip the gym because I had a long day at work, and guess what? The week is not bad because of it! I also had a fantastic easter dinner last sunday and guess what, I’m still doing ok and losing weight. Losing this ‘all or nothing’ mentality has really made the difference for me. It doesn’t mean I have no problems with losing weight anymore, it just means I am psychologically better equipped for maintaining a healthy lifestyle for the rest of my life. I still have binge moments, especiallyΒ when I’m tired or emotional. I guess this is something I’ll have to deal with for some time, I hope it will go away, but if it doesn’t, I’ll find a way to make it work. So, there’s one thing a lot of my IG buddies talk about when I post about it, and that’s Yoga! IΒ will write something about it in my next post!

11 thoughts on “All or nothing

  1. As a “currently chunky” and “former fattie” I hear you on the “all or nothing” mind set. Very well put and something that many of us struggle with. Kudos to you for seeing progress and sharing your thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I always really enjoy your posts. Even people who don’t focus on it in their blogs probably have a back story about their relationship with food and the on/off bandwagon – and whatever that means for them. I know I do. I like your honesty and am sure you’ve cracked that balance. You sound calm and in control. Good for you x

    Liked by 2 people

  3. miss your blog, but just added you to my instagram…I have boxes of clothes (to small for know) I used to wear that I haven’t been able to let go off…so I am looking forward to taking in my big girls clothes and getting the boxes down and start wearing them….welcome back

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Het gaat dus hartstikke goed , Floor!
    Ik weet precies wat je bedoelt. Het is inderdaad niet de bedoeling om jezelf te blijven pushen en voor alles of niets te gaan. Het is de kunst om te genieten, zowel van ‘goed’ voedsel als ‘slecht’ voedsel.’ Gewoon’ goed voor jezelf zorgen. Je doet het PRIMA en je bent een topper;)

    Haha, had vandaag trouwens hetzelfde probleem… Alle mooie zomerkleding die wel past in de was en alle baggy jeans /broeken die overblijven, jeans waar je in kan zwemmen en van denkt: Heb ik daar OOIT in gelopen xD Die baggy broeken, dat is je verleden meid. Naar voren kijken en het verleden als een leermoment zien.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

