Zucchini crust pizza recipe

It’s been a while, but I’m still alive and doing well! Today I’m uploading a recipe for a great zucchini crust pizza. I’ve IMG_20150726_204046combined some things I’ve seen on the internet and sprinkled it with some own ideas πŸ˜‰ Be aware, this is not a ‘low fat, carb free, whatever whatever’ recipe. I LOVE cheese, so there’s a lot of real cheese in this recipe. Of course you can change it to your liking. Personally, I believe that if you crave real pizza, go and eat real pizza! One pizza won’t make you fat, just as one salad won’t make you skinny. Myself, I don’t care too much for the wheat based crust, I care for the cheese, so that’s why this pizza is great for me and right now it’s zucchini season so I can get a lot of them for free from my parents garden or from my own balcony. (Unfortunately my round zucchini plant suffered from the storm we had over here 2 weeks ago, it might not give flowers anymore, boohoo)

Ingredients for 1 big ass pizza (you can definitely use this recipe for 2 smaller pizza’s!):

Base:

  • 2 store bought zucchini’s (or 1 large one)
  • 30 grams of goat cheese flakes (or parmesan cheese) full fat
  • 40 grams of coconut flour (or use regular whole wheat flour or almond flour, you might have to add more of it though, because coconut flour is really dry)IMG_20150805_182724
  • 2 eggs
  • Salt, pepper, garlic powder (or real garlic)

Toppings:

  • A 7-8 biggish grape tomatoes or 2-3 normal ones, sliced
  • A cup of mushrooms, sliced
  • A small tin of tomato paste
  • 50 grams of blue cheese full fat
  • Italian herbs

Instructions:

Preheat the oven on 180 Celcius or 350 Fahrenheit. Grate the zucchini and put it in de microwave for about 2,5 minutes, stir with a fork and then another 2,5 minutes in the microwave. You’ll see a lot of fluids coming from the zucchini, that needs to be drained. Let it leak through a dish towel, or use a strainer or anything that will let the water flow away. You can also squeeze it a bit to remove most of the water. Now put it in a bowl and add the othe20150805_183628r ingredients for the base. Stir, if it’s too watery, you can add a bit more flour. Put the ‘dough’ on a ovenplate, I use baking paper. Push it around untill you have a pizza base shape, make sure you don’t leave it too thick and make sure the edges aren’t too thin (the edges will burn first!). Now put the oven plate in the oven and bake for about 20 minutes. You check the base to see if it’s a bit firm. 20150805_191351Now I do the magic trick, I put a grill on the base (do you call it a grill? Check the pic!) and turn it around, so the base now lies on the grill and can be baked properly in the oven. I usually bake it for another 20-30 minutes, check how it looks, if it gets darker too fast reduce the temperature a bit.

20150805_191801

Now remove it from the oven, add your toppings and put it back for about 10-15 minutes. I usually use regular tomato paste, then add the herbs (if you put them on top, they might burn), then the mushrooms, then tomatoes and finish with the cheese.

Nutritional information:

Kcal: 811, Carbs: 49 grams, fat: 44 grams, 20150805_192058protein: 54 grams. (adjust when you change the ingredients!)

IMG_20150805_194216Enjoy!

12 thoughts on “Zucchini crust pizza recipe

  1. NIce to see you back…I follow you on instagram…I don’t remember hearing how your meeting with your sweethearts kids went….you looked fabulous in your outfit….I couldn’t imagine anyone not loving you…..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Must try this crust! Definitely with a few of the other commenters on the blue cheese – not a fan. Personally I prefer mozzarella on my pizza, but to each their own, and I’m sure it will taste delicious on this crust.
    Thank you for stopping by and giving me a like on my blog. I appreciate it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

